popcorn hydrangea

Popcorn hydrangea

Silly name, beautiful plant.  As soon as I spotted this plant in the entrance to Brackenwood garden centre, I knew it had to be mine. I’ve had this now for over a year and it’s still alive which is pretty much a record, and I even think it’s grown a bit.

popcorn hydrangea

I like the shape of the flowers but the green/blue/purple colour of their buds is what I really love about this plant.

popcorn hydrangea

As everyone knows though, hydrangeas change colour according to ph level of the soil so mine is already turning pink.

popcorn hydrangea pink

I read somewhere that you can add certain things to the soil to make it stay blue so when I re-pot it, that’s what I’ll do.

Leave a Reply

